
CHAPTER 25 – WATER, SEWERS AND SEWAGE DISPOSAL 

 
Sec. 25-41.  Water; violations, civil sanctions.  
 
 (a) If the Utilities Director has reasonable cause to find that a violation of this code 
has occurred, the Utilities Director shall send written notice of the violation to the customer and 
any other individual on the utility account requesting notice. The notice shall be sent by certified 
mail within fifteen (15) days after the Utilities Director determines that reasonable cause exists to 
find that a violation has occurred. The notice shall provide with reasonable particularity the 
nature of the violation, a statement of the penalties provided in this Chapter for such violation 
and the steps required to be in compliance with this Chapter (i.e., abate the violation). 
 
 (b) An individual or customer shall have fifteen (15) days after receipt of the notice to 
come into compliance (i.e., correct the violation) pursuant to the provisions set forth in the 
notice. For each day after the notice is received by the customer until the Utilities Director 
approves the steps taken by the individual or customer to come into compliance with the 
provisions of this Chapter a Civil Sanction shall be assessed of Ten Dollars ($10.00) per day for 
each violation contained in the notice, not to exceed the maximum Civil Sanction of One 
Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) for each violation as provided in this Chapter. Each day such a 
violation occurs shall be deemed a separate violation for purposes of this section and shall 
subject the individual or customer to a separate civil sanction in the amount provided by this 
section. 
  
 (c) Should an individual or customer fail to respond to the Utilities Director notice of 
violation within fifteen (15) days after receiving the notice, the individual or customer shall be 
liable for a Civil Sanction of Fifty Dollars ($50.00) per day for each violation contained in the 
notice up to the maximum Civil Sanction of One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) for each 
violation as provided in this Chapter. 
 
 (d) If an individual or customer fails to respond to the notice of violation within 
fifteen (15) days after receipt, the Utilities Director shall issue a compliance order stating with 
reasonable particularity the nature of the violation, steps required for compliance and the amount 
of Civil Sanctions which have accrued to date. The Utilities Director at the time of issuance of a 
compliance order shall impose the maximum Civil Sanction of One Thousand Dollars 
($1,000.00) for each violation as provided in this Chapter. However, the same compliance order 
may address multiple violations arising out of the same set of facts occurring on multiple dates. 
A copy of the compliance order shall be served on the individual or customer by certified mail. 
The individual or customer shall have ten (10) days from the date of receipt to request a hearing 
by filing a notice with the Utilities Director. 
 
 (e) The hearing shall be held before a hearing officer appointed by the City for such 
purpose. All relevant evidence may be admitted, whether admissible under the Arizona Rules of 
Evidence. The hearing shall be held in the manner provided for State administrative hearings 
pursuant to Title 41, Chapter 6, of the Arizona Revised Statutes.  The hearing officer shall issue a 
written decision within ten (10) days after the hearing. 
(Ord. No. 07-37, 11/20/07, Repeal reserved Sec. 25-41; Enacted new Sec. 25-41) SUPP 2007-4 


